Keystone STARS

Pennsylvania’s quality initiative to assist in improving quality through Standards, Training/Professional Development, Assistance, Resources and Support is called Keystone STARS. The Keystone STARS standards build on the foundation of Pennsylvania’s certification guidelines. The standards were based on research-based best practices, which promote quality learning environments for all children. The program has four STARS levels, each building on the prior level.

The standards measure four areas:

  1. Staff Education
  2. Learning Environment
  3. Leadership and Management
  4. Family and Community Partnerships

Early Learning and School-Age programs participating in Keystone STARS have a certificate posted at their site. For a complete list of current programs participating in Keystone STARS, visit

Click here to see STAR 3 and 4 Keystone STARS Programs